Local Government Minister, Sajid Javid, has confirmed that he will progress his initial ‘minded to’ decision to create two new unitary authorities in the county, replacing the existing nine councils.

One of these unitary authorities would cover the Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole area where residents receive services from Bournemouth, Christchurch, Poole and Dorset County councils.

Now that a final decision has been made Parliamentary Orders will follow later this year and decision-making bodies will be appointed to determine the structure, budget and service delivery models of each new council.

Read more about the Future Dorset proposal.

The Bournemouth, Christchurch and Poole Joint Committee (BCPJC) is made up of representatives of these four Dorset councils and has been set up to make preparations for the new council moving forward.

Members of the Committee work together to improve collective decision making.